be careful what you ask of me.

i was just doing what you asked me to do.

when i let loose and allowed you to fall deeply into me

 

i was just doing what you asked me to do

when i pretended not to notice the day you made me into every gray part of you

 

i was just doing what you asked me to do

that night you wrote me into your existence and i didn’t seem fight it

 

i was just doing what you asked me to do.

when you asked me to be myself and i turned my back on you

 

i was just doing what you asked me to do 

when i kissed you like i did and felt nothing 

 

i was just doing what you asked me  to do 

when i said i loved you knowing full well i am incapable of that emotion

 

i was just doing what you asked me to do

when i became everything you’ve ever wanted in-bodied in everything you’ve ever feared

 

and i was just doing what i thought i owed you

the day i left you a note and never saw you again

 

i was just doing what i thought you deserved 

something brighter than anything i could ever be

 

i was just being myself

the day i left and felt numb in return.

Leave a Reply

